IGAD Sustainable Tourism Roadmap

The Sustainable tourism Master Plan (“STMP”) project is sponsored by Inter-Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and its member states and supported by the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (UNECA). The member states are:

  • Djibouti;
  • Eritrea;
  • Ethiopia;
  • Kenya ;
  • Somalia;
  • South Sudan;
  • Sudan; and
  • Uganda

The program seeks to help each country improve its tourism offerings in the area of business tourism, eco-tourism, and cultural tourism and involves both skills development, training and infrastructure development.

The initiative thus involves the development in each country of:

  • Policy and Regulatory Frameworks;
  • Tourism Safety and Security;
  • Tourism Product Development, Infrastructure and Marketing;
  • Human Resource Development,
  • Research and Development, and
  • Tourism, Natural and Cultural Heritage Conservation.

The overall aim of the STMP is to increase the tourism opportunities in the member states. Figures from 2011 indicate that new capital expenditure in Ethiopia, Kenya and Sudan was approximately $500 million each and a further $200m in Uganda. Tourism numbers into the region doubled from 1995 to 2007 from 1.5 million to 3.2 million before flattening following to the 2008 crisis. The opportunities for expansion are immense. Whereas south Africa has in excess of 200 000 tourist beds, Kenya had just over 10 000 at the last census. According to the World Bank data sheet international tourism receipts were $2 billion each for Kenya and Ethiopia and $770 million for Sudan.

To View /  Print More details, Click Here